| |

 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
Photocopying of Library Materials
|
 |
|
|
|
F. Photocopying of Library Materials
Copyright Warning
Copyright is a serious matter
and any failure to observe these Rules may expose you to liability.
NUS reserves the right to take all appropriate action against those
Members who contravene these Rules.
1. Definitions
- Article(s) : an article or articles in Periodical(s).
- Authorised Library Officer : refers to the Heads of the Library departments or their designated representatives.
- Collection : the Library’s collection of Works.
- Library : refers to the NUS Libraries.
- Member(s) : member(s) of the Library and temporary users who are provided with temporary reading permits.
- NUS : refers to the National University of Singapore.
- NUS Examination Papers : refers to past NUS examination papers in the Collection.
- Officer : refers to a Library staff.
- Periodical(s) : an issue or issues of periodical publications.
- Premises : refer to the Library premises.
- Work(s) : include(s) literary, dramatic musical and artistic work(s).
2. Who may photocopy
- Only Members may photocopy on the self-service copiers on the Premises or request the
Library to photocopy materials from the Collection.
3. What may NOT be photocopied
Works not belonging to the Collection may not be photocopied either through the Library or on the self-service copiers in the Premises.
Works categorised as "Restricted" such as rare books, journals and manuscripts and
works supplied to the Library on the understanding that they would not be reproduced without
the written consent of the copyright owner.
Unpublished Works (except as provided in Paragraph 5(b)(iii) below).
4. Conditions for photocopying
The Members acknowledge that they are making copies of the Works for and on their own behalf,
and in no way is NUS privy to or a participant in the copying of these Works.
The Library does not assume any responsibility nor liability for copies of Works made by the
Members themselves.
The Members acknowledge that they are solely responsible for the copying of Works made by
or for them and their subsequent use thereof.
Members are advised that all photocopies of Works made by them must be for the purpose of
private study, research, criticism, review, reporting of current events, judicial proceedings or
seeking/giving advice from or by an advocate and solicitor, subject to the limitations set out in
paragraph 5 below.
If a Member wishes for a copy of an Article in a Periodical or a copy of the Work to be
made by the Library, the Member must:
- furnish to the Authorised Library Officer a written
request in the prescribed form for a copy of the Work to be made;
- provide a signed declaration in the prescribed form
stating that he/she requires the copy for the purpose of research or
private study and will not use it for any other purpose, and he/she
has not been previously supplied with a copy of the same by the
Library or that he/she has lost, destroyed or damaged any such copy
previously supplied to him; and
- make payment of the applicable charge determined by the Library.
- Where a Member wishes the Library to photocopy
any Work (other than an Article in a Periodical) in excess of the
limits permitted (see paragraph 5(b)(i) below), a written request in
the prescribed form must be submitted to the Authorised Library
Officer and the request must be approved by the said Officer.
5. Limitations for photocopying
The following limits on the amount of any Work to be photocopied on the self-service copiers
in the Premises must be strictly observed:
- Self-service on the self-service copiers in the Premises
(for the purpose of research and private study)
- Published books (of at least 10 pages): not more than one chapter or
not more than 10% of the number of pages thereof.
- Periodicals: not more than the whole or part of one Article in a Periodical.
- Unpublished Works are not to be photocopied (except with the Library’s assistance,
see paragraph 5(b)(iii) below).
- The NUS Examination Papers may be accessed, copied and used only by NUS staff and students in accordance with these Rules.
They are prohibited from disseminating the NUS Examination Papers or copies thereof
for any other purpose not contemplated by these Rules.
- Apart from the research and private study fair dealing guidelines above, it is the
responsibility of the Members to ensure that their dealings with the Collection are fair in all
circumstances and for all purposes, including for the purposes of criticism, review, reporting
of current events, judicial proceedings or seeking/giving advice from or by an advocate and solicitor.
Library-operated service
Please observe the procedure set out in paragraph 4(c) above
- Published books: subject to the limit set out in paragraph 5(a)(i) above or if the copy of
the Work contains more than one chapter of the Work or more than 10% of the number of pages
thereof, then the approval of the Authorised Library Officer must be sought.
- Periodicals: not more than one Article in the same Periodical unless the Articles relate to
the same subject matter.
- A copy of an unpublished NUS thesis or other similar literary work, including an NUS
academic exercise or term project paper may only be supplied to a Member who satisfies the
Authorised Library Officer that the copy is required for the purpose of research or private study.
- Unpublished Works other than those specified at paragraph 5(b)(iii) above are not to be photocopied.
6. Library’s Discretion
- The Library reserves the right to refuse to make any copies of any Works from the Collection
for the Members as well as prohibiting the Members from making copies of any Works from the
Collection as it deems fit.
7. Variation of these Rules
- The Library reserves that right to modify these Rules from time to time. Please check the Web site at
http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/
for the latest version of these Rules which will apply with immediate effect.
Content by: NUS Libraries
Last updated:
22-06-2004
|
|